patient talking with doctor

The 3 types of MS

Learn about the 3 different types of MS and how they may affect the body

People experience the symptoms of multiple sclerosis (MS) differently. And the course that these symptoms may take has been used to describe a few different types of MS.

There are 3 types of MS:

Relapsing-remitting MS (RRMS)

In RRMS, also sometimes called just relapsing MS, symptoms appear out of the blue and can be severe. The disease can then go quiet for months or years. Between flare-ups, the disease tends not to progress or progresses relatively slowly, and symptoms may be gone. 85% of newly diagnosed patients fall into this category.

Secondary-progressive MS (SPMS)

RRMS frequently transitions to SPMS, a condition in which the disease tends to progress more steadily. This can happen with or without relapses. Many people with RRMS may transition to SPMS at some point in the course of their disease.

Primary-progressive MS (PPMS)

With PPMS, symptoms tend to start out mild and gradually worsen over time. There are no distinct flare-ups or periods of remission. About 10% of people with MS are diagnosed with PPMS.

Be sure to ask your doctor about what type of MS you may have.